Montfaucon is a picturesque site existing from the Neolithic...
The history of chateau Montfaucon dates back to the 11th century, when was built the first tower of the chateau, along the river, for strategic purposes. Indeed, the chateau was the border between the Kingdom of France and the Holy Roman Empire.
In the Middle Ages, the chateau was enlarged and acquired the triangular shape still current. In 1420, when the chateau belonged to the family Laudun, King of France decides to associate the title of Baron to the domain of Montfaucon.
Less than a century later, during the sixteenth century, the first cellar was built and the first wines have been produced. Chateau Montfaucon suffered several wars of religion in the sixteenth century and has been severely damaged. In 1766, the Pertuis family acquired the chateau Montfaucon. Joseph Pertuis, who became Baron of Montfaucon, gave its name to one of its vintages. In its honor, we have also included a special wine "Vin de Baron of Montfaucon" from 15 different grape varieties.
In the 1880s, Baron Louis, son of Baron of Montfaucon, made restore and enlarge the area, with a facade reminiscent of the Scottish style. The chateau still retains its form today, making it the only triangular castle still inhabited! The chateau is listed as a historic monument since 1913.
Baron Louis, not married, left the estate to his young niece Madeleine, who married and became the Comtesse de Pins.
Since 1995, the chateau and vines are owned by Rodolphe de Pins, which is attached to restructure and expand the vineyard stretches over 60 hectares! Our range of wines includes eight wines marketed in over twenty different countries.